Cadaver & Queen (#1 & #2) Spoiler Free Review + Giveaway

Author: Alisa Kwitney

Publisher: Inkyard Press

Publication Date: Cadaver & Queen – February 27, 2018 Corpse & Crown – February 12, 2019

Genre: YA, Retellings, Historical Fiction

Cadaver & Queen

| Amazon | Booksamillion | Barns and Noble

Corpse & Crown

| Amazon | Booksamillion | Barns and Noble

Cadaver & Queen

“When Lizzie Lavenza enrolled at Ingold as its first female medical student, she knew she wouldn’t have an easy time. From class demands to being an outsider among her male cohorts, she’ll have to go above and beyond to prove herself. So when she stumbles across what appears to be a faulty Bio-mechanical–one of the mechanized cadavers created to service the school–she jumps at the chance to fix it and get ahead in the program.

Only this Bio-mechanical isn’t like the others. Where they are usually empty-minded and perfectly obedient, this one seems to have thoughts, feelings… and self-awareness.

Soon Lizzie realizes that it is Victor Frankenstein–a former student who died under mysterious circumstances. Victor, it seems, still has a spark of human intelligence inside him, along with memories of things he discovered before his untimely death.. .and a suspicion that he was murdered to keep that information from getting out. Suddenly Lizzie finds herself intertwined in dark secrets and sabotage that put her life, and the lives of Victor and their friends, in danger. But Lizzie’s determined to succeed–even if that means fighting an enemy who threatens the entire British Empire. “

Corpse & Crown


Oliver Twist gets a fresh take in this reimagining of the Dickensian classic taking the familiar characters and turning them on their heads in a historical thriller packed with weird science, political suspense, and steamy romance, perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco’s Stalking Jack the Ripper and Marissa Meyer’s Cinder.

From Alisa Kwitney comes a connected novel set in the same alternative Victorian England of Cadaver & QueenCorpse & Crownfollows the story of Agatha DeLacey, an Ingold nursing student who travels to London and uncovers a devastating secret about the country’s Bio-Mechanicals. Inspired by the classic story of Oliver Twist and complete with a dashing Artful Dodger-inspired male lead, this retelling is a satisfying follow-up to Kwitney’s clever and critically acclaimed young adult debut.

Thank you so much to TLC Book Tours and the publisher for the copies!

Cadaver & Queen

This was the most fun I’ve had reading a retelling in a long while. A retelling of Frankenstein? Come on. It was seriously thoroughly enjoyable.

Victor is our hot frankenstein and boy did he not disappoint. The chemistry he and Lizzie had was A+. Lizzie is a brash American with her own way of doing things. She is extremely smart. Smart enough to be the only female to get into medical school (this is the very early 1900’s). She is tested repeatedly and always comes out stronger. I especially love the moment between her and Grimbald towards the end.

The side characters were really fun to read about as well, and brought a solid story of their own; Byram, with his mysterious limp, Will, trying to measure up to his (supposedly) dead brother, Victor, and Aggie, having the clever things to say but more than meets the eye. And Justine… I’m still not sure what to think of her.

I thought the plot was well executed and unique. There were multiple Frankensteins and crazy doctors/ scientists and that made the story way more interesting.

Corpse & Crown

I liked this one slightly less but only because we see less of Lizzie and Victor as they race to complete an experiment before they run out of time. War is on the horizon, so I get it, they’re busy. But Aggie and Dodger are a good time. Dodger is actually the one that is all lovey-dovey, love-at-first-sight, whereas Aggie is a not in your lifetime type of gal. They make for an interesting couple even if they’re not quite as cute as our original couple.

I did, however, like the plot in this one more. It was more intense with more on the line. War is almost upon them, plus accidents and action left and right. It was more fast paced than the first one.

Final Thoughts

If you are looking for a fun read, go ahead and pick these up! Especially if you think a Frankenstein retelling sounds awesome.

Alisa Kwitney was an editor at DC Comics/Vertigo and is the Eisner-nominated author of graphic novels, romantic women’s fiction and urban fantasy. She was one of the authors of A Flight of Angels, which made YALSA’s Top Ten List for Great Graphic Novels for Teens, and the YA graphic novel Token, named a highlight of the Minx imprint by PW. Alisa has an MFA from Columbia University. Her thesis, Till the Fat Lady Sings, a comedy of manners about college and eating disorders, made The New York Times’ new and noteworthy in paperback list. The first issue of her latest comic book series, Mystik U, is coming out November ’17 from DC Comics. Her first YA novel, Cadaver & Queen, will be coming out with Harlequin Teen in February ’18.

Twitter | Facebook | Website

Check out my GIVEAWAY on my Instagram for BOTH of these books!

Like Never and Always Release Day Blitz and Giveaway!

a5713-like2bnever2band2balways2brdb
I am so excited that LIKE NEVER AND ALWAYS by Ann Aguirre is available now! This was an anticipated read for me and I am ecstatic that I am on the Release Day Blitz tour for this book! Ann Aguirre is an amazing author! I have read her Razorland series and loved it! And y’all, guess what?! There is a giveaway for a Kindle AND signed Like Never and Always books!!! Link at the end of the post! 
About the Book:

Title: LIKE NEVER AND ALWAYS

Author: Ann Aguirre
Pub. Date: July 17, 2018
Publisher: Tor Teen
Formats: Hardcover, eBook,
audiobook
Pages: 336
Find it: GoodreadsAmazonB&NiBooksTBD
On a hot summer night, a screech of
brakes and shattering glass changes two lives forever.

 

Liv wakes in the hospital, confused when they call her Morgan. She assumes it’s
a case of mistaken identity, yet when the bandages come off, it’s not her face
in the mirror anymore. It’s her best friend Morgan’s.

 

Morgan always seemed to have the perfect life, yet Liv must navigate endlessly
disturbing secrets of the criminal and murderous variety—and a romance that
feels like a betrayal. Torn between the boy she loved as Liv and the boy she’s
grown to love as Morgan, Liv still has to survive Morgan’s last request.

Excerpt
“Just let this be the second secret you
keep for me,” I say then. “Thanks for not telling Nathan, by the way.”
Clay leans his arm along the door frame,
tilting his head slightly out the open window as if he needs the air. “You
couldn’t pay me to talk to that jackass lately.”
“You two fighting?”
“No. He’s just . . . Nathan.” He
hesitates. “I wasn’t going to tell you this . . .”
“What?” Anything that could divert me
from my precarious situation, even momentarily, seems like a welcome
distraction.
“He brought a girl home last night.”
From his tone he expects this to destroy me.
And sure, there’s a twinge because
before, I thought Nathan and I had a soul-deep connection. Fact is, he’s a
little immature, a lot selfish, and I just never noticed. They say love is
blind, but I’d say that infatuation is blind, and love is tolerant. When you
really love someone, it’s not that you can’t see the flaws; you’re just willing
to forgive them.
Belatedly I realize he’s expecting a
reply. “I’m not surprised. Nathan is used to getting what he wants just like
you’re using to giving things up. Oh, I was going to ask him to drop this off,
but since you’re here . . .” I fish in my backpack for his hoodie.
Yes, I’ve been carrying it for like four
days. First I hesitated to wash it, but I didn’t want to be a sad girl who’s
still smelling her ex’s clothes a month later. Then I didn’t return it because
that felt like final acceptance, —superstitious, I know. Over is over, and
random articles of clothing don’t change anything.
“You didn’t need to bother with that.
I’ve had it forever.”
“All the more reason for you to have it
back,” I say.
“Do you need to be this cool about
everything?” he bursts out. “I know you have to be scared and hurt—”
“Yeah, I am, all those things. And yes,
I have to be this way, or I can’t function. Why are you even here anyway?” The
pain and frustration cracks my voice, and I really wish I was anywhere else.
“Because I’m worried about you.”
“Then stop. I accepted your decision,
now respect mine. It’ll be easier if I don’t have to see you.”
His jaw clenches, showing the force he’s
exerting to bite back whatever he wants to say.
Finally he just takes his hoodie but he
pauses with his hand on the door. “You know you can call me, right? Even if
we’re not together, I’d never let anyone hurt you. One call and I’m there.”
My heart feels like it’ll crack in two,
but I’m resolute; I have to be. “I already deleted your number.”

About Ann:

 



Ann Aguirre is a New York Times &
USA Today bestselling author with a degree in English Literature; before she
began writing full time, she was a clown, a clerk, a voice actress, and a
savior of stray kittens, not necessarily in that order. She grew up in a yellow
house across from a cornfield, but now she lives in sunny Mexico with her
husband, children, and various pets. She likes books, emo music, and action
movies. She writes all kinds of genre fiction for adults and teens.



Giveaway Details:
1 winner will win a Kindle Oasis, US
Only.
5 winners will win a finished copy of LIKE
NEVER AND ALWAYS, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Caraval Giveaway!

Caraval Giveaway Alert! 

Caraval is one of my all time favorite series so I thought I’d share it with all of you! You can join my giveaway on my Bookstagram page! I have two prizes, one US and one International! 

DSC_0475

US Prize: One copy of Caraval by Stephanie Garber with a signed bookplate

One Caraval quote print

One Legendary Hot cocoa mix from March’s Shelflovecrate! This is an exclusive

item you can’t get anywhere else!

International Prize: One book up to $15 USD from Book Depository or Amazon as long as they ship to your country! (Price does NOT include shipping :))

*Giveaway not affiliated with Instagram, Flatiron books, Stephanie Garber, or Shelflovecrate!*

Good luck!

Happy Adventuring!

 

Signed Obsidio Giveaway!

DSC_0095

Just wanted to tell those of you who don’t know that I am hosting a signed Obsidio giveaway on my Instagram, @Storied.Adventures! You will also get a candle from Little Crow, and a body spray from my shop! This is international, but the international prize is one book up to $15 from Book Depository! So there will be two winners, one from the US and one international! You can find the rules on how to enter there!

Happy Adventuring!