Beyond the Moon by Catherine Taylor – Book Feature

Publisher: The Cameo Press LTD

Publication Date: June 25, 2019

Genre: Romance, Time Travel, Historical Fiction

Amazon

Outlander meets Birdsong is this haunting debut timeslip novel, where a strange twist of fate connects a British soldier fighting in the First World War and a young woman living in modern-day England a century later.

*Shortlisted for the Eharmony/Orion Write Your Own Love Story Prize 2018/19

“A poignant and stirring love story… Taylor’s accomplished, genre-bending book succeeds as a WW1 historical novel and a beguiling, time travel romance… The sharply written narrative deftly moves back and forth between the past and present.”  Kirkus Reviews

“A time travel romance, yet so much more than that. It is also an unflinching portrait of the horrors of war, and a look at the torturous extremes a human soul can endure. It is a sonnet to the transformative power of love, even as it is also a criticism of the futility and pointless destructiveness of war.” — Shaylin Gandhi, author of By The Light of Embers

In 1916 1st Lieutenant Robert Lovett is a patient at Coldbrook Hall military hospital in Sussex, England. A gifted artist, he’s been wounded fighting in the Great War. Shell shocked and suffering from hysterical blindness he can no longer see his own face, let alone paint, and life seems increasingly hopeless.

A century later in 2017, medical student Louisa Casson has just lost her beloved grandmother – her only family. Heartbroken, she drowns her sorrows in alcohol on the South Downs cliffs – only to fall accidentally part-way down. Doctors fear she may have attempted suicide, and Louisa finds herself involuntarily admitted to Coldbrook Hall – now a psychiatric hospital, an unfriendly and chaotic place.

Then one day, while secretly exploring the old Victorian hospital’s ruined, abandoned wing, Louisa hears a voice calling for help, and stumbles across a dark, old-fashioned hospital room. Inside, lying on the floor, is a mysterious, sightless young man, who tells her he was hurt at the Battle of the Somme, a WW1 battle a century ago. And that his name is Lieutenant Robert Lovett…

Two people, two battles: one against the invading Germans on the battlefields of 1916 France, the other against a substandard, uncaring mental health facility in modern-day England. Two journeys begun a century apart, but somehow destined to coincide – and become one desperate struggle to be together.

Part WW1 historical fiction, part timeslip love story – and at the same time a meditation on the themes of war, mental illness, identity and art – Beyond The Moon sweeps the reader on an unforgettable journey through time. An intelligent read, perfect for book clubs.

For fans of Diana Gabaldon, Amy Harmon, Beatriz Williams, Kate Quinn, Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Paullina Simons.

*NB This novel contains graphic descriptions of war violence and injuries, as well as profanity and mild sex. “

I am so excited to feature Beyond the Moon by Catherine Taylor today on my blog and on my Instagram! This sounds really good. I love historical fiction mixed with romance and I think everyone is a sucker for time travel! It has really good reviews on Goodreads too! Check out the author on her Instagram for more info!

*Amazon link is my affiliate link. I earn a commission from them.*

Crooked Ravens (Otherworld, #1) [Spoiler Free]

Author: Talis Jones

Publisher: Self- Published

Publication Date: June 26, 2018

Genre: Fantasy, YA

Adventure Rating: 3 Stars

Amazon

“Sometimes you must let go of who you were to 
embrace what you could become.”
“And if that damns me to Hell?” she asked.
He smiled. “Then we shall meet again.”

There is an island that protects the young not because they are lost, but because they were taken. The Island of Oneiroi is not a mere destination for children and dreamers – it’s a sanctuary for the murdered and vengeance has come.

Adrianna Verdandi holds the cooling corpse of her foster brother, Geoffrey Martinez, when a curious stranger turns up with an invitation of passage to an impossible realm. Little did she know that accepting a second chance would bind their fates to the very darkness they flee from.

Time is of the essence, the rebels are rising up, ancient forces stir in the northern woods, and through it all a strange sailor named Titus watches bemused, shrewd, and knowing far more than he is willing to divulge about this ruthless game for power.

The darkness isn’t coming. It’s already there, walking in your shadow.


*Thank you to the author for sending me an e-book in exchange for an honest review!*

Story/ Plot. Peter Pan + Queen of Hearts = Crooked Raven. At least, that’s the vibe I got! It was a really cool, unique take. I liked the adventure aspect, Adrianna travels across Oneroi to help the rightful queen take her throne away from the tyrant. She was tricked into helping but ended up joining the cause anyways. Geoffrey’s story is a little more slow going. I felt as though his point of view could have had more meat to it. 

Characters. I really liked Adrianna. She was relatable in the sense that I felt as though I would make the same choices she did. I liked hers and Sarai’s friendship. Well, most of the time. Sarai was a really fickle person. One minute she was so excited that she was friends with Adrianna, then the next she was calling her dead weight. 

Writing. Okay, here is where I knocked off a couple stars. There were a couple inconsistencies that confused me thoroughout the book.  One of the first ones I noticed was when the group Adrianna was with, was making camp and the said they “should really start training her.” Then someone else was like, “yes! Let’s do that.” And then five minutes later they just went on their merry way. I was like, wait, what? Another thing that was a bit hard to read was that the scenes didn’t flow together smoothly. Like, the group does one thing, then they’re done. Then another. Then done. Ect.. I also felt as though it would have been easier to follow along if it had have been first person POV alternating. However, I just want to end with that Jones’ writing itself was beautiful, it was just the execution that was hard to follow. Here’s an example: “Night winked cheekily with bright stars scattered across the sky.” I love that sentence! 

Final Thoughts. I am definitely still interested in continuing this series! The characters and story were really interesting! I also love supporting small time authors and am very happy I was approached for this! 

The Legacy of Beauregarde

Happy book birthday to The Legacy of Beauregarde! 

*Post contains my affiliate link to Amazon*

40492779

Author: Rosa Fedele

Publisher: Moshpit Publishing

Publication Date: July 9, 2018

Goodreads

Amazon

Rosa Fedele is a phenomenal Australian Author, who also has amazing artist skills! She drew all of the illustrations in the book. They belong in an art museum. Seriously, they are so gorgeous! If you like dark, mysterious ghost stories, then this is for you! Plus it takes place in Australia. I would love to visit one day!

About the Author:

14235900‘For me, every painting and every book is a new adventure, started with a thrill of excitement and anticipation.’

Australian author and artist Rosa Fedele, known for her portrait and figurative work, was born in Sydney and studied at the prestigious Julian Ashton Art School. A member of Portrait Artists Australia, Australia’s largest industry association for professional portraitists, her work has been exhibited in NSW Parliament House and Parliament House Canberra, as well as numerous galleries and exhibitions in Australia and worldwide.

Rosa fell avidly in love with books at a very young age. Her favourites were those by C.S. Lewis and Tolkien, and later on Raymond E. Feist, David Eddings, Anne McCaffrey and Frank Herbert; in fact, anything with beautiful and spellbinding words and imagery that would allow her to escape into other worlds.

Her debut novel The Red Door was the fulfilment of a lifelong dream, to interweave a story with pictures and draw the reader into her own bewitching, and slightly dark-edged, world. The next in her illustrated suspense series, THE LEGACY OF BEAUREGARDE, will be released 10 July 2018, stay tuned and follow the hashtag #australiannoir

You can follow her here:

Website

Goodreads

Instagram

Happy Adventuring!