The Red Fox Clan (Ranger’s Apprentice: The Royal Ranger, #2) by John Flanagan Spoiler Free Review

I am so excited to be a part of the blogger reread campaign by Penguin Random House! Thank you for the free books in exchange for a review!

This week is book two of The Royal Ranger’s series by John Flanagan!

Publisher: Puffin Books

Publication Date: August 21, 2018

Genre: Middle Grade, Adventure, Fantasy

| Amazon

”   Picking up where The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen. 

     After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger’s apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn’s succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves? 

     Bestselling author of the Ranger’s Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones! “

This was such a fun adventure! The action kept going from book one into book two. Maddie is a little bit older now and is falling into place quite nicely with the Rangers. She’s an extremely strong opponent. I love how the author supports strong women and gives them real abilities that you can actually learn. He also gives them strengths and weaknesses to balance them out. Any young girl would love to be Maddie! A princess AND a Ranger?! I choose that. She is smart, clever, and dangerous. But she also has a soft side to her that loves people (and horses). Her interactions with her mother in particular were so sweet and genuine. Her mom is not to be messed with either! And the secrets Maddie finds out are delicious!

I had a great time learning about tactics in small scale battle, when it was from Gilan’s POV. I kept tensing up whenever something would happen, afraid he might get hurt! It was awesome to see Horace in action too! I highly recommend for any girl who needs a boost of self confidence and is looking for adventure! This series makes me want to really take up archery!

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

Ranger’s Apprentice: A New Beginning by John Flanagan – Blogger Reread Campaign – Spoiler Free Review

I am so excited to be a part of the blogger reread campaign by Penguin Random House! Thank you for the free books in exchange for a review!

This week is book one of The Royal Ranger’s series by John Flanagan!

Publisher: Puffin Books

Publication Date: November 5, 2013

Genre: Middle Grade, Adventure, Fantasy

| Amazon


“Will Treaty has come a long way from the small boy with dreams of knighthood. Life had other plans for him, and as an apprentice Ranger under Halt, he grew into a legend—the finest Ranger the kingdom has ever known. Yet Will is facing a tragic battle that has left him grim and alone. To add to his problems, the time has come to take on an apprentice of his own, and it’s the last person he ever would have expected: Princess Madelyn, the daughter of Princess Cassandra. Will has to win the trust and respect of his difficult new companion—a task that at times seems almost impossible.

John Flanagan returns to conclude the series that has conquered millions of readers worldwide with this pulse-pounding adventure that brings one era to a close,  ushers in the next, starting the series anew starring Maddie, the Royal Ranger.

For fans of Tolkien, Redwall, Game of Thrones, and T.H. White, Ranger’s Apprentice delivers fantasy-adventure thrills with real-world historical details

A New Beginning is a very fun middle grade read that I highly recommend for new fans or old! I would have absolutely loved to have read this when I was younger! My middle school heart would have soared to have this story. That being said, adult me had a great time too! The writing is quite good, you can easily follow along. The plot about the Rangers letting a girl join for the first time ever was really well done. It seemed like an easy transition. I had a good time reading about the training that goes into being a Ranger and the cool moves they have skills for! One of my favorite tropes is when a princess becomes a warrior. And Maddie does not disappoint. I love the fact that the author wrote about a regular moody teenager, and giving them something to fight for. To make them feel/ do something important. Maddie’s character development was spot on. As was Will’s, even though he is a seasoned Ranger. There are still things left to learn for him as well. Their easy going banter makes this readers heart happy. They have such a sweet Uncle/ Niece relationship!

I can’t wait to see what adventures and mischief Maddie gets up to next! This was a grand adventure!

John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer. John began writing Ranger’s Apprentice for his son, Michael, ten years ago, and is still hard at work on the series and its spinoff, Brotherband Chronicles. He currently lives in the suburb of Manly, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons.

The Storm Runner Review (Spoiler Free)

DSC_0874

Author: J. C. Cervantes

Publisher: Rick Riordan Presents

Publication Date: Sept. 18, 2018

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy

My Rating: 4 Stars

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Amazon

swirl-hi

Story. This middle grade book actually kept my attention. The story was interesting enough for me to want to keep reading and reading and reading. I loved reading about the Mayan gods and mythology. I think it’s so cool to learn about other cultures myths! The Mayan’s have some cool ones! Like shape shifting hawks. What?! Yes. Plus, the main character has a disability, one leg is shorter than the other. A lot of the book is centered around that and how he overcomes certain obstacles. It’s pretty rare to see the hero of the book have a disability. It was very interesting / cool to read about.

Characters. For being a middle grade book, the characters were actually written really well. They were well rounded, well thought out. Zane, Hondo, and Brooks are the three main people you read about. They each bring a different flavor to the table. Zane is like any young teen, ambitious, self conscious, crushing hard on someone, and thinks they are unstoppable (for the most part). Hondo is a young twenty year old hot head with an endearing side to him too. And Brooks is your kick a$$ heroine who shape shifts and puts up with the boys’ nonsense.

Final Thoughts. Y’all. I actually quite liked this book. I definitely want to continue with the series! But now I have to wait over a year!! Ugh. It didn’t leave off on too bad of a cliff hanger, but still. Ugh. I also liked this one because it was just a good, clean, fun story! And adventurous of course! It was like Percy Jackson but different enough to seem like it wasn’t a copy. It was it’s own story. So, obviously, if you like Percy Jackson, you’ll like this one!

Find out more about the author HERE!

Happy Adventuring

*post contains my Amazon affiliate link*

*Cup is from The Bookish Shop Coupon Code: StoriedAdventures10*

 

August 2018 TBR

TBR

I can’t believe it is August already. I blinked and I missed July! Anyways, as per usual I am determined to read four books this month! I rarely do but it’s always my goal! And I’ve got more ARCs to review this month that I’m super excited about! I hope you are too! 

*Let me say that I finished a book in between writing my Wrap-Up post and my TBR post. The Demon Race by Alexandria Warwick. I will be reviewing that bad boy tomorrow (Fri, Aug. 3)!

First up…. The 48 by Donna Hosie. 33006920

 

I am super excited about this one! I got this ARC from Storygram Tours! (Check them out HERE )And while a review is not required, I would still like to provide one! So, thank you Storygram! This one is about time traveling assassins! It already pretty much only has 5 star reviews. Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

Second…. Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan38469737

I am really loving mixing genres at the moment. Once I’m done with historical fiction, I will jump into Sci-fi! My friend, Mel gave this book a great review and she had an interview with the author on her blog! Milan seems like she’d be awesome to hang out with!

Mel’s blog HERE

Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

Third… Impostors by Scott Westerfeld     37825397

 

I read the Uglies series years ago. So I am super happy to have traded an ARC for this ARC! I really enjoyed that series and am excited to see where Westerfeld will take it again!

Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

 

Fourth… The Storm Runner by J. C. Cervantes34966353

 

 

I haven’t read a middle grade book in some time and am excited to get into one! This one is a take on Maya mythology! It sounds so interesting!

Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

This month is pretty slow, life wise, for me so I am hoping I can get through all of these! What are you reading this month?

Happy Adventuring