The Last Wish (The Witcher, 0.5) by Andrzej Sapkowski – Spoiler Free Review

Publisher: Orbit

Publication Date: 1993 (Originally. Edition shown in photo published 2019)

Genre: High Fantasy, Magic, Short Stories, Adventure

Adventure Rating: 4.5 Stars

Amazon

” Geralt of Rivia is a witcher. A cunning sorcerer. A merciless assassin. And a cold-blooded killer. His sole purpose: to destroy the monsters that plague the world. But not everything monstrous-looking is evil and not everything fair is good… and in every fairy tale there is a grain of truth.

A collection of short stories introducing Geralt of Rivia, to be followed by the first novel in the actual series, The Blood of Elves. Note that, while The Last Wish was published after The Sword of Destiny, the stories contained in The Last Wish take place first chronologically, and many of the individual stories were published before The Sword of Destiny. “

Where to start… First let me say, if you want to watch the show, I highly recommend you read up through book one. Read The Last Wish, Sword of Destiny, AND Blood of Elves first. In the show, there are multiple timelines that cover each of those books.

Anyways, each short story is like a Grimm Fairytale that is even more grim. (Ha. Ha. Ha.) They don’t really end in happy endings and they are often filled with gore. I loved it. They were really dark. My favorite was the Beauty and the Beast one of course. Again, no happy endings, but it was very interesting! Each story is setting you up for the first book, Blood of Elves. And it’s basically Geralt’s back story.

Geralt is fascinating to read about. He acts like he has no feelings but he does. His character development is really well done. The world is changing and he has to change with it. Or die out. It’s really about him navigating his dying profession of monster killing, and where to go from there.

My favorite character is Dandelion (not pronounced like the weed but pronounced more like Dan-DILL-ion). He was the comic relief and the cinnamon roll of the series. I love him. He is a traveling bard who is a quick thinker and has sassy come-backs. He’s a good contrast to Geralt. And Yennefer for that matter.

I’m not really sure how I feel about Yennefer yet. She’s kind of a mysterious morally grey character. She is cool, I just don’t know if I like her yet.

This book was FULL of adventure. I was surprised at how fast I fell in love with it. No wonder it’s insanely popular. It’s dark, intense, and just fun to read. I’m officially a fan of The Witcher!

Have you read this? What did you think? Let’s discuss!

*Amazon link is my affiliate link!*

*Currently Reading sign is from Bookish Signs and More! Use my code to save 10%! Code: Lauren10

Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha, #1) – Spoiler Free Review

Empire.jpg

Author: Tasha Suri

Publisher: Orbit

Publication Date: November 13, 2018

Genre: Fantasy

My Rating: 4 Stars

Amazon

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Synopsis 2

A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods. Empire of Sand is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy.

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.

When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda.

Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

Empire of Sand is a lush, dazzling fantasy novel perfect for readers of City of Brass and The Wrath & the Dawn.”

My Review 2

*I received an e-arc from Edelweiss+ and Orbit in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!*

Plot/ Story. This actually turned out to be a really sweet love story. Mehr’s personality kind of matches my own. She’s really sweet and will do her job unless she’s pushed and pushed then she will bring wrath down. She’s got this awesome ability to “control” (it’s more like persuade) the desert spirits. And she’s powerful too. I am super interested in learning more about the Amrithi people and their magic.

Magic. There wasn’t really much to the magic system per se, only that the Amrithi people have the ability to talk to / persuade the desert spirits. It was beautifully written about though. The magic was strongest when there were storms and it was a dance between the Amrithi and the spirits. Depending on what symbol you traced or made with your hands, it would mean something different. Think sign language.

Characters. The more I review, the more I realize that I am a character driven person. If I don’t like the characters OR if I don’t understand their reasoning, then the book won’t get as high of a review from me. I LOVED the characters in this book. Mehr was relatable in the sense that I feel as though I would make the same decisions as her and feel the same way. She got down and depressed at one point and had to make the decision to take a lickin’ and keep on kickin’. We’ve all been there. I know I have. And the sweet, sweet love between Mehr and Amun!!! SWOON! They were forced together but when fighting side by side and knowing the other was all they had, they fell in love. For me, it enhanced the beauty of the story.

Final Thoughts. I definitely want to read the next book! Suri’s writing is alluring; it brings you into the story itself. I’m officially a big fan! This is a diverse book based on Indian culture! So cool!

Happy Adventuring