Beyond the Moon by Catherine Taylor – Book Feature

Publisher: The Cameo Press LTD

Publication Date: June 25, 2019

Genre: Romance, Time Travel, Historical Fiction

Amazon

Outlander meets Birdsong is this haunting debut timeslip novel, where a strange twist of fate connects a British soldier fighting in the First World War and a young woman living in modern-day England a century later.

*Shortlisted for the Eharmony/Orion Write Your Own Love Story Prize 2018/19

“A poignant and stirring love story… Taylor’s accomplished, genre-bending book succeeds as a WW1 historical novel and a beguiling, time travel romance… The sharply written narrative deftly moves back and forth between the past and present.”  Kirkus Reviews

“A time travel romance, yet so much more than that. It is also an unflinching portrait of the horrors of war, and a look at the torturous extremes a human soul can endure. It is a sonnet to the transformative power of love, even as it is also a criticism of the futility and pointless destructiveness of war.” — Shaylin Gandhi, author of By The Light of Embers

In 1916 1st Lieutenant Robert Lovett is a patient at Coldbrook Hall military hospital in Sussex, England. A gifted artist, he’s been wounded fighting in the Great War. Shell shocked and suffering from hysterical blindness he can no longer see his own face, let alone paint, and life seems increasingly hopeless.

A century later in 2017, medical student Louisa Casson has just lost her beloved grandmother – her only family. Heartbroken, she drowns her sorrows in alcohol on the South Downs cliffs – only to fall accidentally part-way down. Doctors fear she may have attempted suicide, and Louisa finds herself involuntarily admitted to Coldbrook Hall – now a psychiatric hospital, an unfriendly and chaotic place.

Then one day, while secretly exploring the old Victorian hospital’s ruined, abandoned wing, Louisa hears a voice calling for help, and stumbles across a dark, old-fashioned hospital room. Inside, lying on the floor, is a mysterious, sightless young man, who tells her he was hurt at the Battle of the Somme, a WW1 battle a century ago. And that his name is Lieutenant Robert Lovett…

Two people, two battles: one against the invading Germans on the battlefields of 1916 France, the other against a substandard, uncaring mental health facility in modern-day England. Two journeys begun a century apart, but somehow destined to coincide – and become one desperate struggle to be together.

Part WW1 historical fiction, part timeslip love story – and at the same time a meditation on the themes of war, mental illness, identity and art – Beyond The Moon sweeps the reader on an unforgettable journey through time. An intelligent read, perfect for book clubs.

For fans of Diana Gabaldon, Amy Harmon, Beatriz Williams, Kate Quinn, Kristin Hannah, Kate Morton, Susanna Kearsley and Paullina Simons.

*NB This novel contains graphic descriptions of war violence and injuries, as well as profanity and mild sex. “

I am so excited to feature Beyond the Moon by Catherine Taylor today on my blog and on my Instagram! This sounds really good. I love historical fiction mixed with romance and I think everyone is a sucker for time travel! It has really good reviews on Goodreads too! Check out the author on her Instagram for more info!

*Amazon link is my affiliate link. I earn a commission from them.*

The 48 Review (Spoiler Free)

DSC_0926

Author: Donna Hosie

Publisher: Holiday House

Publication Date: September 4, 2018

Genre: YA, Historical Fiction

My Rating: 3 Stars

goodreads-badge-add-plus-71eae69ca0307d077df66a58ec068898

Amazon

swirl-hi

I received a copy of this book from Storygram Tours. My post on Instagram for this will be on September 2, and there will be a giveaway!   

Story. I was really looking forward to time traveling, teen assassins. However, this was a bit of a let down. The premise made it sound like a lot of action would take place and they would, you know, actually be assassins. I guess not. And this isn’t a spoiler by the way, it says it right in the beginning. They train to rewrite history. There was little action. The story didn’t pull me in as much as I wanted it to. I just liked it. I didn’t think about it in my free time and I kind of forgot about it after I was done reading it. Now, with that being said, it was still a likable read. I just would have written the synopsis a bit differently. It was a tad misleading, in my opinion.

Characters. Honestly, same thoughts as the story. They were likable, but I didn’t think about them. And Charles was a bit all over the place with his feeling between two women. I had to reread a couple of his paragraphs to understand what he was trying to get across. Alex sometimes too. It was as if they couldn’t decide on what to do at any given time. It got kind of annoying. I just wanted to yell at them, “Make a decision already!!”.  I really enjoyed Lady Margaret’s point of view. She was the most consistent character. The characters had good chemistry. Alex and Charlie’s twin bond was so fun to read about! I loved how they interacted with each other. And when one of them would get hurt the other would go crazy and be like, “I’m going to kill whoever did this to my brother.” I liked it.

Final Thoughts. I liked this book. It didn’t keep my attention, but I am interested enough to want to read the second book when it comes out. The writing was pretty good, but not what I wanted when reading a historical fiction. I wanted a bit more oomph from her. But if you are looking for a light read, and you like historical fiction or maybe want to branch out slowly, then I think this would be a good starting place!

Happy Adventuring

*Post contains my Amazon affiliate link*

August 2018 TBR

TBR

I can’t believe it is August already. I blinked and I missed July! Anyways, as per usual I am determined to read four books this month! I rarely do but it’s always my goal! And I’ve got more ARCs to review this month that I’m super excited about! I hope you are too! 

*Let me say that I finished a book in between writing my Wrap-Up post and my TBR post. The Demon Race by Alexandria Warwick. I will be reviewing that bad boy tomorrow (Fri, Aug. 3)!

First up…. The 48 by Donna Hosie. 33006920

 

I am super excited about this one! I got this ARC from Storygram Tours! (Check them out HERE )And while a review is not required, I would still like to provide one! So, thank you Storygram! This one is about time traveling assassins! It already pretty much only has 5 star reviews. Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

Second…. Ignite the Stars by Maura Milan38469737

I am really loving mixing genres at the moment. Once I’m done with historical fiction, I will jump into Sci-fi! My friend, Mel gave this book a great review and she had an interview with the author on her blog! Milan seems like she’d be awesome to hang out with!

Mel’s blog HERE

Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

Third… Impostors by Scott Westerfeld     37825397

 

I read the Uglies series years ago. So I am super happy to have traded an ARC for this ARC! I really enjoyed that series and am excited to see where Westerfeld will take it again!

Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

 

Fourth… The Storm Runner by J. C. Cervantes34966353

 

 

I haven’t read a middle grade book in some time and am excited to get into one! This one is a take on Maya mythology! It sounds so interesting!

Check it out on Goodreads HERE

 

 

This month is pretty slow, life wise, for me so I am hoping I can get through all of these! What are you reading this month?

Happy Adventuring