Wardens of Eternity (#1) by Courtney Allison Moulton – Spoiler Free Review

Publisher: Blink

Publication Date: January 21, 2020

Genre: YA Fantasy, Mythology

Goodreads | Amazon

“Ziva Ellison has one memory of her parents, made the day they abandoned her on the streets of New York City when she was three years old. They left her with only a memory and a promise that she had a great and terrible destiny.

Fifteen years later, Ziva discovers that destiny includes powers that she doesn’t understand and can barely control. Her magic attracts vicious, otherworldly monsters, and eventually compatriots to help her fight them. Sayer and Nasira know the secrets Ziva doesn’t; that Ziva is descended from Egyptian royalty and in possession of ancient magic passed down from the time of the gods. They promise to teach Ziva to control her magic and to give her the family she’s always yearned for.

But trouble is brewing in the world around them; darkness is descending on Hitler’s Germany, threatening World War II. As the last heir of a revered Egyptian queen, Ziva is the only one with the power to prevent another costly global conflict. As Ziva navigates her newfound abilities and makes a connection with Anubis and other Egyptian gods, the Nazis are hunting for the ultimate weapon, and Ziva has caught their interest.

From Courtney Allison Moulton, author of the acclaimed Angelfire series, comes Wardens of Eternity, an action-packed page-turner that blends history, mythology, and magic, perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Kiersten White.”

*Thank you so much to Blink for sending me an ARC in exchange for an honest review and for TLC Book Tours for having me on the tour!*

First of all, I am trying to spice up my blog a bit and try new things with my reviews. So, I put together a mini mood board for Wardens of Eternity! Please let me know if this is something you like or do not generally like!

I loved the Egyptian mythology. It did give me Percy Jackson vibes but for an older audience, I think. I really liked the historical, 1940s, plot. Finding the tombs of Nefertari, and other archaeological finds and learning about them was so interesting! Especially with the added plot point of the second world war.

Ziva has these powers and background that she doesn’t understand. I love that she finds her family in the Medjai people. She has this awesome lineage that makes her Egyptian royalty. How freaking cool! So, she is like, one of the most powerful of her people and retains knowledge like nobody’s business. And Sayer! Oh, sweet Sayer. I love his personality. He can kick some butt and then be the nicest guy ever. And Nasira is so sassy, I love it. I also love the side characters! I would love a book from Anubis’ POV!

I really enjoyed the plot. They are running around on this grand adventure trying to find the body parts of Queen Nefertari, to bring her back to life. All the while dodging WWII and fighting gods who don’t want Nefertari to be reborn. There are some crazy fight scenes! Plus some plot twists that I was like, WHAAAAAT?!

The only thing I didn’t really like is the fact that it was mentioned a lot that Egypt was being victimized. And how horrible they had it. Which, I understand, BUT Egypt (nor any other country) is not perfect. Egypt also enslaved and killed people. They did to other countries what the book was saying was so horrible being done to Egypt… Also when they were saying how the archaeologists were taking their artifacts, which again I completely understand, BUT their own government was letting it happen…

Okay, I really enjoyed this book and the mythology! It was so interesting! I am definitely interested in the next book! Talk about a cliff hanger!

What mythology is your favorite?

5 thoughts on “Wardens of Eternity (#1) by Courtney Allison Moulton – Spoiler Free Review

  1. Pingback: Courtney Allison Moulton, author of WARDENS OF ETERNITY, on tour January 2020 | TLC Book Tours

  2. Pingback: Blog Tour Excerpt – Wardens of Eternity by Courtney Moulton – Sincerely Karen Jo

  3. Pingback: Blog Tour Review – Wardens of Eternity by Courtney Moulton – Sincerely Karen Jo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s